Skip to content

Tournament History

Orlando’s Signature Event

Since moving to Bay Hill in 1979, the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard has become one of the most important annual stops on the PGA TOUR.

Bearing the name of a legend, the tournament has seen the best players in the world compete for Arnie’s title at the place he called home. As Mr. Palmer once said, “You must play boldly to win” and for nearly five decades that statement has proven true every March at Bay Hill Club & Lodge.

through the decades

  • 1960s


    The Citrus Open

    The Arnold Palmer Invitational legacy begins with the Florida Citrus Open. Hosted at the nearby Rio Pinar, the Citrus Open was where the first seeds of Orlando’s Signature Sporting Event were sown.

  • 1970s


    A New Era

    Throughout the 60s and 70s, the Florida Citrus Open served as a proving ground for PGA TOUR pros like Lee Trevino, Julius Boros, and Arnold Palmer. Mr. Palmer even hoisted the trophy in 1971.

    In 1975, Mr. Palmer purchased the Bay Hill Club & Lodge. And in 1979, it became home to the eventual Arnold Palmer Invitational.

  • 1980s


    Prestige is Earned

    The 1980s were the first full decade of the tournament at Bay Hill. In this ten-year span, the future of the tournament was shaped by winners like Payne Stewart and Paul Azinger who brought their A-game to the PGA TOUR newcomer – and etched their names in Bay Hill history.

  • 1990s


    A Game-Changing Decade

    In an era where the world changed dramatically numerous pros rose to the occasion, including PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year, Robert Gamez, who claimed the first victory of the decade.

  • 2000s


    The Reign of Tiger

    Across the golf world, one name can inspire both admiration and fear in the hearts of fans and players alike: Tiger. From his first win in 2000 to his sixth in 2009, his performances as Bay Hill defined the decade and changed the sport as a whole.

    Despite Tiger’s dominance, however, it’s Vijay Singh who holds the distinct honor of becoming the first-ever winner after the name was changed to the Arnold Palmer Invitational in 2007.

  • 2010s


    The Proving Ground

    While Tiger Woods claimed back-to-back wins in 2012 and 2013, bringing his tournament total up to an eye-watering eight, the decade belonged to the next generation. Matt Every’s twin wins and record-tying -18 finish were evidence that for those with something to prove, Bay Hill was the place to do it.

  • 2020s


    Orlando’s Signature Event

    Just a few years into our fifth decade, the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard has proven to be more than a golf tournament: it’s a destination for golf fans, pros, and families, and stands as an enduring tribute to the legacy of Mr. Arnold Palmer. Designated as a PGA TOUR Signature Event, our player field, purse, and prestige place us among the top stages in the sport.

Past Champions

Champion image of Tournament Player
2023 Champ
Kurt Kitayama
Score: 279
2nd Place:
Rory McIlroy, Harris English
Champion image of Tournament Player
2022 Champ
Scottie Scheffler
Score: 283
2nd Place:
Tyrrell Hatton, Billy Horschel, Viktor Hovland
Champion image of Tournament Player
2021 Champ
Bryson DeChambeau
Score: 277
2nd Place:
Lee Westwood
Champion image of Tournament Player
2020 Champ
Tyrrell Hatton
Score: 284
2nd Place:
Marc Leishman


Entertain AT Orlando’s Signature Event.

Treat your guests to upscale food, great drinks, and air-conditioned views of the tournament action. Contact David Strahan, Director fo Business Development, for all your hospitality and sponsorship needs.

Contact David: